Linguistic Project: Pokémon Names

Dear fellow members of Smogon,

I wasn't quite sure where exactly I should ask my questions, so I eventually chose The Great Library, hoping you could help me with my issue.

I'm a student at a German university and I decided to write a linguistic term paper about the morphological structure of Pokémon names, meaning how Pokèmon names are created and of what actual words they consist; for example: 'Ivysaur' consists of the two words 'ivy' (plant) and 'saur' (Latin suffix for 'lizard').

Unfortunately, there are not many scientific articles about this issue and I wanted to ask you if you could help me here. The following questions are highly important to me:
  1. Who/what institution invents the (English) Pokémon names?
  2. Is there an official source that can definitely prove the explanations for the Pokémon names (I've already looked on the official websites of Pokémon and Nintendo, but I couldn't find anything.)?
  3. Are there any authors who focused on Pokémon as a linguistic research object and, if so, what are the authors' and the articles' names?

I would be very grateful if you could help me with my research. I can upload my term paper to this website afterwards if you want so.

Best regards and thank you in anticipation

TalkingAboutTheWeather (diehard Pokémon fan for now more than 18 years)

TMan87

We shall bow to neither master nor god
is a Site Content Manageris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Top Smogon Media Contributor
Hello and welcome to Smogon!

It's always a pleasure to see fellows trying to combine Pokémon with a linguistic approach.
As for your questions, I'm no expert but here are my guesses:

1) I'd say Nintendo America, which I believe tries to keep both the original sense of the Japanese name and any puns that may lie within it.