Featured Tutor #11 - Tokyo Tom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alkov

plopping
is a Tutor Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

Image by Arhops

Welcome to the Featured Tutor project! This is a series of interview where I will ask Official Tutors several questions about them, B101 forum and their experience with it. Through this project, I hope that it will bring about entertainment and an insight on how they tutor. The project will be hosted by me. This week, we're honored to have a C&C Moderator and awesome tutor, Tokyo Tom as our interviewee!

✨Vintage Tokyo Swag✨

Can you tell us a little more about your life outside of Smogon/PS?

I am currently a second year university student from Canada. I swim competitively for my school's Varsity Swim Team, and I like to play tennis recreationally on the side, after playing for my high school team. I follow the ATP tour heavy, and I started watching a lot of baseball as well due to the Blue Jays having this amazing season. I am a huge music fan, primarily listening to hip hop and electronic, but I'd like to think I'm somewhat versatile in my tastes. I also like watching TV - big Game of Thrones fan, among other things, and I'm currently going through a show called Scandal with my housemates (although we maintain that it's a downright terrible show).

Where did you get your name from?

My name comes from a Nintendo DS game I played as a kid called Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime. There is a trio of "ninja" characters in the game - Goosashi, Gooshido, and Tokyo Tom. While the former two speak in stereotypical japanese ninja lingo, Tokyo Tom speaks in western slang, so he always stuck out to me as a chill-ass dude. Coming up blank for a name to use online when I decided to create a Smogon account, I settled on Tokyo Tom, hoping to emulate the character's laid-back swagger.

Can you share with us how and when did you get into competitive battling?