Gen 4 [DPP OU] Excal's "Hitmontop Stall" Team

Excal’s “Hitmontop Stall” Team

Hi, for the most of you that don’t know me, I’m Excal, a competitive DPP OU player. I’ve been playing “competitive pokemon” since late 2009, but I only recently started participating in tournaments. My reasons for posting are mainly that I’d like to become more involved in discussing competitive mons and the community here at Smogon, and I would love any feedback I can get on this team. I feel that this team brings something unique to the table, and I haven’t seen anything like it before. Unfortunately all I have to show for it is peaking the ladder, so posting here feels like a great way to further integrate myself with the community and competitive scene. As such this is my first team, so I apologize in advance if I didn’t write this up in a completely conventional way that pertains to this form.

A quick note about the team’s classification as “Hitmontop Stall” before I begin is that I don’t really know what else to call it. I view the team as a bulky balance, but it typically plays the long game and plays like stall.

Anyway, onto the team.

The Team

Devangaard (Jirachi) @ Choice Scarf
Ability: Serene Grace
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Adamant Nature
- Trick
- Ice Punch
- Stealth Rock
- Iron Head
Jirachi is my main source of “offense” (AKA hax). It is the only pokemon with any offensive investment, and plays multiple roles within the team that no other pokemon is capable of doing simultaneously.